top of page

15 Minute Black Beans and Rice Meal

Updated: Nov 1, 2023

This dish is so close to my heart. It's what my parents would make for my brothers and I on busy school nights when they needed a fast and nutritious meal to serve us. Now that I live on my own, it's a rare occurrence that I am without these ingredients because I never know when I need a fast meal. I hope this nostalgic meal warms your heart the way it does mine. - xoxo


INGREDIENTS

1 cup brown rice

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup dry white wine

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp chicken, vegetable, or turkey stock concentrate

2 cans Goya black bean soup

1 can beans of your choice, rinsed and drained

1 tsp dried oregano

2 bay leaves

1/8c salsa plus more for garnish

1.5 tbsp apple cider vinegar

(optional) cilantro for garnish


  1. Add rice, water, wine, and stock concentrate to a pressure cooker. Set to the "rice" setting on high for 18 minutes. with 5 minutes natural pressure release.

  2. While rice is cooking, add bean soup, drained and rinsed beans, oregano, bay leaf, salsa, apple cider vinegar to a pot. Mix to combine.

  3. Cover with a lid and let it heat on the stovetop over medium heat. Stir occasionally to prevent sticking. Cook until lightly boiling, then remove from heat.

  4. Serve over rice. Garnish your serving with an extra scoop of salsa and cilantro, if desired.





Comments


bottom of page