top of page

Crispy Oven Roasted Potatoes

I know, I know, it's 2023 and I still haven't hopped on the air fryer bandwagon yet. I'll eventually get one. But in the meantime, there's something you should know about me: I love me a good spud, especially when it has a crispy exterior, a fluffy center, and a complex flavor profile. That's what I've achieved with this recipe here. Through much trial and error, I have uncovered the secrets to crispy potatoes. It comes down to the oven temperature, the pan temperature, and your fat. Adding your potatoes to a preheated pan ensures that the outside starts roasting as soon as it hits the pan, which you can hear by the instant (and oh so satisfying) sizzle you hear when you add your spuds. Butter also has a lower smoke point than olive oil, meaning that it will help your tots brown while also giving it a nutty complexity to the flavor profile. Using a larger baking sheet will ensure that the potatoes roast instead of steam, thus keeping them nice and kwispy. Don't be afraid to use two baking sheets to avoid overcrowding your potatoes, if needed!



INGREDIENTS



About 16 oz fingerling potatoes, washed and dried thoroughly

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper, fresh cracked

4 tbsp melted butter, unsalted

6 tbsp olive oil


Makes 4-6 servings



  1. Add large baking tray lined with foil (no grease) to the bottom rack of a cold oven. Set the oven to 450 degrees with the pan inside.

  2. Cut potatoes in half lengthwise and into relatively even pieces. Add to a bowl.

  3. To your potatoes, add butter, oil, and seasonings. Mix to combine.

  4. When oven reaches 450 degrees, remove the baking tray and add the potatoes. Spread with a spoon so that none of the potatoes are touching each other.

  5. Replace tray to bottom rack for 25 minutes.

  6. Enjoy!

Let me know how it came out on my Instagram!






8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page